If you would like to help contribute to the forum by buying credits to improve the forum, go click on the link to help out. << GO HERE >>> to donate to the forum
Discord

Log in

I forgot my password

Latest topics
» STAFF LIST AS OF 1/31/15
Tue Apr 17, 2018 12:00 am by Hazza

» graphic collabs anyone?
Sun Apr 08, 2018 4:32 pm by Savanah

» Hovering Over Usernames
Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:43 pm by Savanah

» Supernatural
Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:38 am by Cammy

» Panic! At The Disco
Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:12 am by jessica.

» Kpop News Thread
Sat Mar 31, 2018 1:37 am by Hazza

» Love, Simon
Mon Mar 26, 2018 6:31 pm by Cammy

» FT's Discord Server
Sat Mar 24, 2018 11:35 pm by Hazza

» NBC's Rise
Sat Mar 24, 2018 1:21 am by Hazza

Who is online?
In total there are 7 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 7 Guests :: 1 Bot

None

Most users ever online was 112 on Wed Feb 26, 2014 8:26 pm
Read our rules here!

Top posting users this week
Hazza
 
Indie
 

Ribbons

Affiliates
Protected by CopyScape
Protected by Copyscape
Statistics
We have 587 registered users
The newest registered user is kendall

Our users have posted a total of 288640 messages in 5162 subjects

REVIEW- 26 by Paramore | After Laughter

Go down

REVIEW- 26 by Paramore | After Laughter

Post by ky on Sat May 13, 2017 2:08 pm

for anyone who has heard After Laughter, i am here to give you a review on one of the songs on their new album, 26.


The lyrics of the song:

Man, you really know how to get someone down
Everything was fine, until you came around
And I've been chasing after dreamers in the clouds
After all wasn't I the one who said
To keep your feet on the ground
Man, you really brought me back down

Hold onto hope if you got it
Don't let it go for nobody
And they say that dreaming is free
But I wouldn't care what it cost me

You got me tied up but I stay close to the window
And I talk to myself about the places that I used to go
And hope that someday that I just float away
And forget every cynical thing you said
When you gonna hear me out
Man, you really bring me down

Hold onto hope if you got it
Don't let it go for nobody
And they say that dreaming is free
But I wouldn't care what it cost me

Reality will break your heart
Survival will not be the hardest part
It's keeping all your hopes alive
When all the rest of you has died
So let it break your heart

So hold onto hope if you got it
Don't let it go for nobody
And they say that dreaming is free
But I wouldn't care what it cost me

Hold onto hope if you got it
Don't let it go for nobody
And they say dreaming is free
But I wouldn't care what it cost me


here is the audio, unfortunately, and as expected, no video for the song has been released as yet:




i have chosen to review this song as it is my person favourite on the album. It's a slower, if not the, slowest song on the album. The words appear sad and disheartened, but, of course, as with every paramore song, there is a strong message behind them. Hayley, Zac and Josh have returned with the zing they had the last time they were all together. 


My personal favourite line(s) in 26 are:



"and they say that dreaming is free,

But i wouldn't care what it cost me"



this passes across a message of strength and power, and a message to keep dreaming. Paramore are known for turning painful heartbreaks into powerful rock ballads (some examples include My Heart and Ignorance) but with the new album, the theme has changed into turning painful events into funky, 90's-inspired summer hits.



another line which passes across a message:

"so hold onto hope if you got it,

don't let it go for nobody"

this could mean many different things. Some examples, in my own opinion, are:
1) teenagers- don't let love cloud your vision (similar themes are explored in Misery Business, where it talks about 'getting the boy', this song, i think, links into 26)
2) all people- don't let anybody tell you that you can't achieve your dreams (this links to Let The Flames Begin- "this is, how we'll dance when, when they try to take us down")



If anyone has listened to any songs, and would like a review on one; just ask, and i will write one!

_________________


i contain multitudes
avatar
ky
Ultimate Member
Ultimate Member

Reputation 1
Posts 2768
Tickets 961
Location : burnt orange skies

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum